HANSEATIC DRY GIN 100% Handmade

A BREATH
OF FRESH WIND IN
THE GLASS

FROM THE OLDEST
SPIRIT FACTORY
IN HAMBURG

Feel the taste
of the North German wind
on your tongue.

 

THE BRAINS BEHIND LUV & LEE

Another new gin? Another new gin from Hamburg? Do we need one?

The brains behind LUV&LEE, Christian Heck, had to ask himself these questions when the first ideas for a real North German gin slowly took shape. As a spirit connoisseur with more than 25 years’ experience at Pernod Ricard, he was able to answer all of them with a resounding yes.

Because LUV&LEE is different. With us, it doesn’t just say LUV&LEE Hanseatic Dry Gin on the bottle, it is also Hanseatic inside.

Christian had long wondered why there wasn’t a gin with typical North German botanicals, amongst all the different Hamburg gins. And he thought that had to change!

 

FRUIT
EXPLOSION
ON THE
TONGUE

FEEL THE FRUITY TASTE OF OUR HANSEATIC SLOW GIN COMPOSITION.

Fruity, bitter, sweet, spicy, grainy, salty: LUV&LEE Sloe Gin shines due to its diversity. According to tradition, the focus is on the special flavour of the sloe. Our unique juniper distillate is ground with the sloes and finished with a slightly caramelised sugar solution. Combined with the North German Aquavit flavours, the Sylt sea salt crystals and the playfulness of the lemon, there is a taste and fruit explosion on your tongue.

 

TIME
OUT
HAMBURG
STYLE.

TASTE THE COFFEE TRADITION THAT MADE HAMBURG’S SPEICHERSTADT [warehouse district] INTO A WORLD CULTURAL HERITAGE SITE

LUV&LEE combines classic gin botanicals such as juniper and coriander with the typical star anis and caraway notes of Aquavit.
The fine coffee note of our Hanseatic Coffee Gin invites the discerning connoisseur to take a journey of discovery into the flavour of Hamburg’s history.

LUV&LEE HANSEATIC DRY GIN

The idea of LUV&LEE was born from the love of the North and gin. Apart from the classic gin botanicals such as juniper and coriander, LUV&LEE has a note that could not be more Northern: Aquavit. Real Northerners will immediately recognise the typical star anis and caraway notes of the Northern aqua vitae that lends LUV&LEE one of its unique selling points.

Yet, what would be a Hanseatic gin without the feeling that you are standing directly on the water’s edge, and letting the salty sea breeze blow in your face? A pinch of Sylt sea salt crystals gives LUV&LEE exactly this final piece of the North, which adds the finishing touch to our real North German gin.

LUV&LEE Hanseatic Dry Gin is best enjoyed with the smell of a fresh sea breeze and North German simplicity: neat, on ice or with a light, mild tonic which does not overlap the stand-alone flavour profile. If you can’t do without the frills, add a ball of water melon or dried lemon slices to the glass, and pour tonic over it. A stick of lemon grass or a little North German seagrass would also be suitable decorations and add a hint of flavour.

 

HAMBURG’S GENTLE SIDE

Social responsibility is an elementary part of our business conduct for us. All of us have the option to influence society and help to shape it. Even as a new company, we would like to actively make use of this possibility, by getting involved in an area that we feel drawn to and which is close to our hearts.
As “fish heads” born and bred, with Northern Hanseatic values, we identify with the sea and the vastness of our home.

That is why we are committed to the welfare of seafarers, with our campaign “Hamburgs milde Seite“ [Hamburg’s gentle side]. We are working together
Deutsche Seemannsmission Hamburg Altona e.V. to ensure that this is carried out professionally and in line with the needs of the seafarers.
Together with the deacon of the seafarer’s mission, we discuss where and how we can meaningfully and effectively enrich the lives of seafarers, and make them easier.
LUV&LEE has already committed to the project described below with a donation and will continue to do so by donating €1 per online purchase of our products.
This means that we can do good together and still enjoy our lives whilst doing so. Because that is how we imagine a successful interaction of business and society.

Many thanks for your participation.

Christian Heck
Founder of LUV&LEE


(left to right) Sailordeacon Fiete Sturm Deutsche Seemannsmission Hamburg Altona e.V., Christian Heck founder of LUV&LEE

THE PROJECT

Seafarers are now on the high seas for 8-9 months. There are no mobile masts there, and the use of a satellite telephone is not affordable with earnings of €800 – 900 per month.
This means that seafarers hardly have any opportunities to keep in touch with their families and children. The consequences are often alienation, social isolation and loss of the family.

That is why LUV&LEE supports the Deutsche Seemannsmission Hamburg Altona e.V. with its project Hamburg’s gentle side by offering the seafarers quick and above all free WLAN, thus allowing them contact with their families again when they are in the seamen’s Mission in Altona in Hamburg.

We have already supported the conversion required for this with the sum of €3000 and donate an additional €1 of every bottle of LUV&LEE ordered here online.
We would be delighted for you to be a part of this too.

 

THE MANUFACTORY

To make real Northern light out of LUV&LEE with all these components, Christian Heck got together with the experts at the oldest spirit factory in Hamburg. The family company von Have has been manufacturing luxury spirits in small batches since 1868, and as a long-established Hamburg company, is North German through and through.

After Christian convinced Manufactory Manager Christoph von Have of his idea for LUV&LEE, the weighting of the various flavours and the overall composition was refined in meticulous detail. That worked so well for the two of them that LUV&LEE was awarded the gold medal at the International Spirits Award ISW, almost before the first bottles were filled. The start to 2018 was also very successful for LUV&LEE: At the China Wine & Spirits Awards, our unique Hanseatic Dry Gin won a double gold medal.

The prize-winning result is our Hanseatic Dry Gin, a breath of fresh air in a glass and the best reason to be surprised that it is still possible to be surprised by a new gin.

HANSEATIC DRY GIN 100% Handmade

FRISCHER
WIND
IM GLAS

AUS DER ÄLTESTEN
SPIRITUOSEN-MANUFAKTUR
HAMBURGS

Spüren Sie den Geschmack
des norddeutschen Windes
auf der Zunge.

 

Der Kopf hinter LUV&LEE

Noch ein neuer Gin? Noch ein neuer Gin aus Hamburg? Tut das Not?

Diese Fragen musste sich der Kopf hinter LUV&LEE, Christian Heck, durchaus stellen lassen, als die ersten Ideen zu einem echt norddeutschen Gin langsam Gestalt annahmen. Als Spirituosenkenner mit mehr als 25 Jahren Erfahrung im Hause Pernod Ricard konnte er sie alle mit einem überzeugten „Ja“ beantworten.

Denn LUV&LEE ist anders. Bei uns steht nicht nur LUV&LEE Hanseatic Dry Gin drauf, es ist auch Hanseatic drin.

Schon lange hatte Christian sich gewundert, warum es zwischen den verschiedenen Hamburger Gins nicht einen mit typisch norddeutschen Botanicals gibt. Und er fand: Das muss sich ändern!

 

FRUCHT
EXPLOSION
AUF DER
ZUNGE.

SPÜREN SIE DEN FRUCHTIGEN GESCHMACK UNSERER HANSEATISCHEN SLOE-GIN-KOMPOSITION.

Fruchtig, herb, süß, würzig, kernig, salzig: LUV&LEE Sloe Gin glänzt durch seine Vielfalt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei, nach alter Tradition, der besondere Geschmack der Schlehe. Unser einzigartiges Wachholderdestillat wird mit den Schlehen vermählt und mit einer leicht karamellisierten Zuckerlösung angereichert. In Kombination mit den norddeutschen AquavitAromen, den Sylter Meersalzkristallen und dem Spiel der Zitrone entsteht auf der Zunge eine Geschmacks- und Fruchtexplosion.

LUV&LEE – DER SHOP 

LUV&LEE Hanseatic Dry Gin

In der Liebe zum Norden und zum Gin liegt die Geburtsidee von LUV&LEE. Neben den klassischen Gin Botanicals wie Wacholder und Koriander wartet LUV&LEE mit einer Note auf, die nordischer kaum sein könnte: dem Aquavit. Echte Nordlichter erkennen sofort die typischen Sternanis- und Kümmelnoten des nordischen aqua vitae, die LUV&LEE eines seiner Alleinstellungsmerkmale verleihen.

Doch was wäre ein Hanseatic Gin ohne das Gefühl, direkt an der Waterkant zu stehen und sich den salzigen Wind der See ins Gesicht wehen zu lassen? Für genau dieses finale Stückchen Norden sorgt bei LUV&LEE eine Prise Sylter Meersalzkristalle, die unserem echt nordeutschen Gin den letzten Schliff verleiht.

LUV&LEE Hanseatic Dry Gin wird am besten mit einer frischen Brise Seewind um die Nase genossen und norddeutsch-unkompliziert serviert: Pur, auf Eis oder mit einem leichten, milden Tonic, welches das eigenständige Geschmacksprofil nicht überlagert. Wer auf etwas Schnickschnack nicht verzichten mag, gibt eine Kugel Wassermelone oder getrocknete Zitronenscheiben ins Glas und gießt es mit Tonic auf. Auch ein Stängel Lemongrass oder etwas norddeutsches Seegras eignen sich als Dekoration und zur leichten Aromatisierung.

 

Hamburgs milde Seite

Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung ist für uns ein elementarer Bestandteil unseres unternehmerischen Handelns. Jeder von uns hat die Möglichkeit Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft zu nehmen und diese mitzugestalten. Selbst als junges Unternehmen möchten wir diese Möglichkeit aktiv nutzen, indem wir uns in einem Bereich engagieren, dem wir uns verbunden und nah fühlen.
Und als geborene Fischköppe mit nordisch-hanseatischen Werten identifizieren wir uns mit dem Meer und der Weite unserer Heimat.

Deshalb engagieren wir uns mit unserer Aktion „Hamburgs milde Seite“ für das Wohlergehen von Seeleuten. Damit dies professionell und nah an den Bedürfnissen von Seeleuten geschieht, arbeiten
wir mit der Deutschen Seemannsmission Hamburg Altona e.V. zusammen.
Gemeinsam mit dem Diakon der Seemannsmission besprechen wir, wo und wie wir sinnvoll und wirksam das Leben von Seeleuten bereichern und erleichtern können.
LUV&LEE hat sich bei dem unten aufgeführten Projekt mit einer Spende bereits engagiert und wird dies weiter tun, indem wir 1 Euro bei jedem Online-Kauf unserer Produkte spenden.
So können wir gemeinsam Gutes tun und trotzdem dabei unser Leben genießen. Denn so stellen wir uns ein gelungenes Zusammenspiel von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft vor.

Vielen Dank, dass auch Du mitmachst.

Christian Heck
Gründer LUV&LEE

 

Die Manufaktur

Um aus LUV&LEE mit allen diesen Bestandteilen ein echtes Nordlicht zu machen, hat sich Christian Heck mit den Experten der ältesten Spirituosenmanufaktur Hamburgs zusammengetan. Das Familienunternehmen von Have stellt seit 1868 in kleinen Partien edle Spirituosen her und ist als alteingesessenes Hamburger Unternehmen norddeutsch von der Pike auf.

Nachdem Christian Manufakturchef Christoph von Have von seiner Idee für LUV&LEE überzeugen konnte, wurde in liebevoller Kleinarbeit an der Gewichtung der verschiedenen Geschmacksnoten und der Gesamtkomposition gefeilt. Das ist den beiden so gut gelungen, dass LUV&LEE, kaum dass die ersten Flaschen abgefüllt waren, bereits mit der Goldmedaille des Internationalen Spirituosen Wettbewerbs ISW ausgezeichnet wurde. Auch der Start ins Jahr 2018 lief für LUV&LEE bereist sehr erfolgreich: Im Rahmen der China Wine & Spirits Awards erhielt unser einzigartiger Hanseatic Dry Gin gleich die doppelte Goldmedaille.

Das prämierte Ergebnis, unser Hanseatic Dry Gin, ist der frische Wind im Glas und der beste Grund, überrascht zu sein, dass man sich von einem neuen Gin überhaupt noch überraschen lassen kann.